mtvU correspondent team announced

And the spot on the Red Carpet goes to… Terry Stackhouse and Zach Cusson. The team from Emerson College are the Grand Prize winners for the 2010 Oscar Correspondent Contest, sponsored by the Academy and mtvU.

The coveted prize among college journalists gives students a spot on the Red Carpet for the 82nd Academy Awards and access to the backstage press rooms and the Governors Ball.

“Terry and Zach made a strong impression among the online voters and with the Academy and mtvU selection panel. We are certain they will represent college journalists well,” said Academy President Tom Sherak, quoted in the press release. “They are in for an experience like no other — the energy and excitement on Oscar’s® red carpet is truly unique.”

Stackhouse and Cusson battled for votes on mtvU's Web site after winning a spot to compete against 10 semifinalists, which was whittled down to three mid-February.

The winning team was selected through a second round of online voting and evaluation by a panel composed of Academy staff and journalists — Jess Cagle from Entertainment Weekly, Sandy Cohen from the Associated Press and Bonnie Tiegel from “Entertainment Tonight” and “The Insider,” according to a press release.

Runners-up Rachel Berry and Christian Hartnett of Chapman University, and Brandon McCaskill and Kiarra Hart of Florida A&M University earned bleacher seats along the Red Carpet, where they will be able to watch guest arrivals. They also will receive admission to the 2010 Bleacher Fan Oscar Viewing Party, sponsored by Kodak, at the El Capitan Theatre. Kodak provided each of the finalists with a Kodak Zi8 pocket video camera and a Kodak EasyShare M381 digital camera.

Rethink. will be watching for coverage from the Emerson team and will share any videos we find.

Link: Emerson team video


Popular posts from this blog

Recent Star cuts represent growing trend

Online document creation in a Flash

Week one in Chautauqua